The Purple-y Oversized Ruffle ShawlΒ 

Hello my lovely friends πŸ’• How wonderful to see you! 

Are you ready for the big reveal? πŸ˜‰

Alright….here she is 


In this picture ⬆️  the colors are almost ‘true to life’ ….in this one ⬇️ not so much, but you’ll be able to see better how it looks like when worn. 😊


It is quite big, isn’t it? 

Now I will tell you how you would go about if you wanted to make one for yourself. πŸ™‚

You will need 

– 5 skeins ‘Caron Simply Soft’ in your favorite color 

– 4 skeins Ruffle Yarn (I used ‘Red Heart’ Sashay with Sequins)

Hook Size I (5.25mm) That’s slightly bigger than recommended, but I wanted the shawl to be loosely crocheted, and flowy) 

– Needle and Thread 

Start with the Caron Yarn, and crochet a half ‘Granny Square’. 

I found these wonderful directions on Ravelry. So instead of copying her, I’ll give you the link to the page of Renate Kirkpatrick. *

And now crochet until you used up all 5 skeins. 😁 To avoid the dreaded ‘sewing in of yarn ends’ I use the ‘Russian Join’


For me the end was nerve racking! Why? Take a look…


Last inch of the last skein on the last row 😳 And the color is discontinued! Double Whammy! Oh well, it all worked out fine! 😎

Update: This color seems to be back 😁 but apparently in a smaller skein- size/weight. Unless it was an overstock item… I really can’t be sure. πŸ˜•

Alright….time to add the ruffle. I used one round of double crochet. Yep, that’s really it. πŸ€“  

Start anywhere. Insert your hook through one space of the ruffle yarn, about 2″ from the beginning. Pick up 2 loops of the last row on the shawl, and work a double crochet – always skip a space of the ruffle yarn. That way your border will be nice and full, and the shawl not wavy and puckering. 

And now keep going. Skip a space, yarn over, pick up 2 loops, and work a double crochet, like you do with any other yarn. 



When you get to the end of a skein, stop 2″ before the end, and pick up with a new skein (about 2″ in). Aaaaand keep going. Work 3 dc in every corner stitch, to ensure the corner will lie nice and flat.

This actually took a wee bit longer than anticipated, but it’s worth it in the end. 😍

Once you worked your way around the shawl …well done! High five βœ‹… take the loop off the hook, take your needle and thread, pick up the loop, and secure it with a few stitches. 


Always insert the needle into the yarn. 

Fold over the end of the ruffle yarn and stitch in place. Repeat on the other side, then join both edges together, using a Satin Stitch. Here also …into the yarn 


There, you can hardly tell it’s there….right?! πŸ˜€


Trim the frayed edges (not too close to the seam!)

You’re done! Now, all you gotta do is wait for a cool night so you can show her off! 😊

I hope this is easy to follow! πŸ™‚ If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to send me a message or mention it in the comments. I’m always right here. 😘

* If you can’t get to the pattern because you are not a member of Ravelry, and don’t wanna be, let me know I will post the instructions for the ‘Half Granny Square’. πŸ€—

I hope you have a fabulous weekend. Drop me a line or two if you get the chance. I always love hearing from you! 

Until next time πŸ’•

~ Tina xoxo 

πŸ’₯ I am in no way affiliated with the companies, people, and website mentioned here. 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lili
    Jun 23, 2017 @ 20:10:19

    YOU are ROCKIN’ this girlfriend! I am SO impressed by your immersion into this new (for you) creative endeavor. You can see the love in each loop ; ) Well done–and kudos for your blog–you inspire me!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Robin
    Oct 14, 2017 @ 17:44:13

    So glad I didn’t miss seeing this! Very pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment