An Oversized Poncho ~ The Pattern ๐Ÿค“

Hello my lovely friends ๐Ÿ’• Here it is – the pattern you’ve been waiting for…well, some of you anyway ๐Ÿ˜

Feronia ๐Ÿ’–img_2860-1

and

Persephone ๐Ÿ’š

Ready? Let’s do this! ๐Ÿ™‚

You will need:

– 5 Red Lion Brand ‘Mandala’ cakes ~ 5 because I noticed that some of the colors don’t run as long in some cakes as in others…so you will need to dig into the 5th one to supplement

Hook Size G (4.25mm)

Stitch Guideย 
Magicย Ring: Form a loop with your first color, pull yarn through (from the skein), ch1

ย 

Corner: 3dc, ch3, 3dc, ch1

Patternย 
Work into the ring – ch3, 2dc, ch3, ย *3dc, ch3 – repeat from * twice. Join with a slipstitch to the first dc. You will have a square. Pull the middle string to close the hole.

Round 2: Ch 1, turn, *3dc, 3ch, 3dc in ch3 sp (corner) Ch1. Repeat from * 3 times. Slipstitch with the second color to the first dc. Ch 1, turn.

Round 3: *3dc in ch1 sp, ch1, Corner into ch3 sp. Repeat 3-times from * Join with a slipstitch. Ch1. Turn.

Round 4 and all following rounds:ย 3dc, separated by 1 ch into all ch1 spaces. Corners in the ch3 spaces, changing colors every 2 rounds.

Feronia has 20 rounds, Persephone has 18 rounds.

After the desired amount of rounds fasten off.

Border:ย 
Y
, 1dc in same space. Work the length of the square with 1dc in each 1ch space, 1dc between each cluster dc (not in the loops of the dc in the previous row).

Corner: Ch1, 1 dc, ch 1, 1 dc, ch 1 into ch3 space

Work around the square. Join with a slipstitch. Fasten off.

Work 2 more rounds the same way, in different colors.

Joining of the Squaresย 
I
rc=”https://kristabellaweston.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/img_2845.jpg” class=”alignnone wp-image-4825″ height=”1936″ alt=”” width=”1936″> Dc 1, continue following myย picture/written tutorial you can findย here
&

g src=”https://kristabellaweston.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/img_2846.jpg” class=”alignnone size-medium wp-image-4828″ height=”360″ title=”” alt=”” width=”360″>ย  Join the Squares according to this

Now you’ll notice that the neck hole is a bit big โ˜บ๏ธ

You can fix that by adding more Border rows.
In
ue on to 2 stitches before the point of the ‘V‘. There you have to crochet 5 together as follows:

Insert your hook into the next stitch. Yo, pull through, yo, pull through 2 loops. Yo, insert hook into the next stitch, yo, pull through, yo, pull through 2 loops.

Repeat for the next 3 stitches = 5 loops

Continue with the Border stich to the next ‘V’.ย 

5 dc together. Continue with the Border Stich. Join with a slipstitch.

Add more border rows to achieve the desired size.

Feronia has 6 extra rows; Persephone has 4 extra rows.

Theย Picot Edging is a beautiful finishing touch ๐Ÿ˜

Picots: Insert your hook between 2dc. Pull yarn through. Yo, pull through. 1sc.

*1 slipstitch in next space. Ch 3, slipstitch into the first ch. 1 sc. Repeat from * Join with a slipstitch. Fasten off.

Drawstring and Tasselsย 

Crochet a long chain. Thread it through the last Border row.

Cut 20 pieces of yarn (appr. 7″) Fold in half, and position them onto one end of your chain.

Secure by stitching through the loops of the chain.

Wrap a length of yarn around, near the top.

Secure the end.

You’re done! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ Well, except for the pesky ends…but let’s not think about that now. ๐Ÿ˜œ

I hope you’re happy with this pattern. If you get stuck, have questions – please don’t hesitate to contact me. I’m just a quick message away ๐Ÿค—

Let me know how you’re getting along. I would love to hear from you. ๐Ÿ˜

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emma
    Oct 03, 2017 @ 05:35:07

    Looks fabulous! Did you actually cut the yarn to have the colours match? It’s so lovely thanks for sharing your pattern ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Kristabella's Hodgepodge
      Oct 03, 2017 @ 13:22:28

      You’re very welcome, Emma ๐Ÿ˜
      Yes I did cut the yarn after 2 rows…one of the reasons I ordered a yarn winder ๐Ÿ˜‹ At times I was covered in yarn bits and yards of unwound yarn ๐Ÿ˜† With the winder I can make iddy biddy balls – no more mess ๐Ÿ˜ Plus, I heard they’re quite fun ๐Ÿ˜œ

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Emma
        Oct 05, 2017 @ 01:09:29

        Yes I definitely love my yarn winder ๐Ÿ˜Š I was just thinking that I could use some of my stash yarn if the yarn is getting cut, which is perfect! Now I just canโ€™t wait to be reunited with my stash

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kristabella's Hodgepodge
        Oct 05, 2017 @ 01:20:31

        Sounds great, Emma ๐Ÿ˜ƒ I’m so happy to hear that you found some inspiration here ๐Ÿ˜Š And your stash will be glad to see you ๐Ÿ˜
        I just got my winder…it’s awesome! ๐Ÿ˜ I’m having a blast winding all my yarn. Apparently I’m easily amused ๐Ÿ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Emma
        Oct 05, 2017 @ 01:56:04

        Haha thatโ€™s was me when I got mine! My husband was very puzzled as to why I was having so much fun winding my whole stash up ๐Ÿ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kristabella's Hodgepodge
        Oct 05, 2017 @ 15:21:35

        ๐Ÿ˜‚ I guess it’s hard to understand until you try it ๐Ÿ˜‹l
        Mine just started squeaking ๐Ÿ˜ณ I’m not quite sure what to do about that ๐Ÿ˜œ

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Robin
    Oct 03, 2017 @ 12:13:50

    Gorgeous! Thank you for sharing the pattern!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. brennacrocheter
    Oct 03, 2017 @ 12:17:07

    Thanks for the pattern, they are lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Jackie
    Oct 05, 2017 @ 00:08:52

    What size will this fit?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Kristabella's Hodgepodge
      Oct 05, 2017 @ 00:33:25

      Hi Jackie – the way it is here it’s not for a short person ๐Ÿ˜ I’m 5’7″ and Feronia hits below my knee, Persephone is a bit shorter. They measure 51″ (49″) from wrist to wrist, measured up one arm, behind the neck, down the other arm. But it’s easily adjusted by making the squares smaller. ๐Ÿ˜Š
      I hope this helps.
      Thanks so much for visiting and your interest. ๐Ÿ˜

      Like

      Reply

    • Kristabella's Hodgepodge
      Oct 05, 2017 @ 00:35:03

      Let me know if you have any more questions ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

      Reply

  5. Lori Furrow
    Oct 11, 2017 @ 22:39:14

    what size are each of the squares?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Thunder Rose
    Feb 02, 2018 @ 13:29:55

    Your work is very beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Trackback: 30+ Hot Weather Crochet/Knitting Projects ๐Ÿ˜Ž | Kristabella's Hodgepodge
  8. Trackback: Granny~Stitch~Oversize~Project~Bag – A Free Pattern ๐ŸŒป | Kristabella's Hodgepodge
  9. Erika Cook
    Nov 09, 2019 @ 22:50:46

    I love, love, LOVE this poncho! I ordered 5 skeins of Mandala yarn with a cardigan already in mind, but while browsing patterns, I saw this. My plans are definitely changed, I’m so excited to make this!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. Laura
    Apr 18, 2020 @ 09:39:39

    My friend is 5โ€™4โ€ and she wants me to include a fringe on the end…. how large would you approximate I make the squares?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Kristabella's Hodgepodge
      Apr 18, 2020 @ 10:27:01

      Hello Laura – thank you for reaching out ๐Ÿ˜Š
      I would crochet 14 rounds per square, and a 4โ€ fringe. If your friend is close by you could pin the squares together and have her try it on…once we can all get together again. ๐Ÿ˜Ž
      I hope this helps! Happy crocheting and stay safe! ๐ŸŒท

      Like

      Reply

  11. Laura
    Apr 18, 2020 @ 19:39:38

    You are so kind to respond and help me, Thank you for your time and knowledge
    I will keep you posted on how I turns out๐Ÿ˜Šโค๏ธ

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  12. Laura
    Apr 23, 2020 @ 08:49:09

    Can you tell me the actual name of the mandala yarn you used? Was it wizard?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment