The Fantastic Bake ~AlongΒ 

Hello my lovely friends πŸ’• Today you’re in for a real treat! A delicious bread is on the menu for this weekend’s ‘Fantastic Bake~Along’ 😍


 Don’t you just love baking your own bread? The fantastic smells coming out of the kitchen spell love and comfort πŸ’œ I love how everyone gathers around aiming for that first slice. πŸ€—

Doesn’t that look delicious? I bet you can’t wait to get started! πŸ˜‹

Here is the recipe:
Whole Grain Bread – makes 1 loaf

Recipe by Kathy Reeves @ Sewing Etc.

Bread Machine Instructions– Use the dough setting. Add the ingredients in this order

8 oz. tepid water

1 teaspoon salt
2 Tablespoons butter  ~ I used Sunflower Butter 

2 Tablespoons honey

2 Tablespoons wheat bran  ~ I used steelcut oats 

2 Tablespoons wheat germ

2 teaspoons flax seed  

ΒΌ cup whole wheat flour

2 ΒΌ cup white flour

1 package or 2 Β½ teaspoons yeast

Optional: Raisins or chopped nuts (This is not part of the original recipe…it’s just what I do 😁)

Punch down the dough, roll into a rectangle, and roll up from the short end like a jelly roll, pinching the ends and edge to seal. Place, seams side down in a greased loaf pan. Cover; let rise in warm, draft free place until doubled in size, about 45-60 minutes.
Bake at 400 degrees F for 30 minutes or until done. Remove from pans; cool on wire rack.

Hand Mixing Instructions-
In a large bowl mix very warm water (105 degrees), butter, honey and salt until dissolved. Add yeast, set aside for 5 minutes to proof.

Stir in wheat bran, wheat germ, flax seed and whole wheat flour.
Stir in enough white flour to make a soft dough, then turn out and knead on a lightly floured surface until smooth and elastic. You will probably use all of the white flour as you knead for 8-10 minutes. Place in a lightly greased bowl, cover and let rise about one hour.

Punch down the dough, roll into a rectangle, and roll up from the short end like a jelly roll, pinching the ends and edge to seal. Place, seams side down in a greased loaf pan. Cover; let rise in warm, draft free place until doubled in size, about 45-60 minutes.
Bake at 400 degrees F for 30 minutes or until done. Remove from pans; cool on wire rack.
**How do you know when the bread is done? Knock on the loaf, and if it sounds hollow, it is done or nearly there! 

This time I added the raisins, and the yeast worked some of them to the top…and, I guess, the moisture turned them back into grapes πŸ˜‚

I had to pick them off – they tasted a bit burned 😝

But the rest of the wonderful loaf was in fantastic shape πŸ˜†

If there’s any left we’ll have it with a layer of honey for breakfast tomorrow. 😍

If you wanna join us next month, visit Tracy’s Blog to sign up. We’re looking forward to having you! 😍
Here’s her invite…


Alright…..clean-up time 😣 Then I’ll get your ‘Weekend Chuckles’ posted πŸ˜† I hope you can make time and stop by again later. πŸ˜€

Until then πŸ’•

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathyreeves
    Aug 12, 2017 @ 23:39:13

    I will have to try this with raisins some time! Glad you joined us, your bread looks marvelous!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Tracy @ It's a T-Sweets Day!
    Aug 13, 2017 @ 14:17:37

    Tina your bread looks delicious! The plumped up raisins were so funny! Your posts always make me laugh:). This has been a fun and yummy Bake Along. I’m off to eat a slice of toast for breakfast!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Aug 13, 2017 @ 19:18:14

    Oh, I’ll have to try adding raisins next time, I’ll bet it would be delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. brennacrocheter
    Aug 14, 2017 @ 12:11:59

    Raisins would be a good add! Your bread looks wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Tami
    Aug 22, 2017 @ 11:56:58

    I love homemade bread Tina! I bake it all the time and I’ve never thought to add raisins and make it a raisin bread!! I’m so sad that I have had to sit out the last 2 Fantastic Bake Alongs. 😦 My oven broke almost a month ago and a new oven isn’t in the budget until the end of this month. I thought okay no problem, who wants to use an oven in the summer anyways – well……. I DO!! I am going through some very serious baking withdrawal!! Hopefully I can jump back in for the Bake Along fun next month!! πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply

  6. Tracy @ It's a T-Sweets Day!
    Oct 16, 2017 @ 22:05:27

    Hello Tina! I hope all is well over in your part of the country. I am getting set to get the Bake Along up tomorrow and wonder if you have the recipe ready for me or if you would like me to put up one of mine this month instead. You could email me or Instagram pm me the recipe If you would prefer that as well. Just let me know love. β€”Tracy;)❀️

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Kristabella's Hodgepodge
      Oct 17, 2017 @ 02:52:25

      Hello Tracy – yes,all is good here 😊 I hope you can say the same. 😍
      The recipe just went ‘live’ 😁 I’m so sorry for the delay… I had a crazy weekend at the shop – Irish Fest in Weston brought more people than expected- it was a stormy, rainy weekend. But I guess the Irish are used to that πŸ˜†
      And today – I hang my head in shame πŸ˜” – I kinda, sorta forgot. Ugh πŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈ
      I hope I’m not too late. If you already picked something else – no worries. Either way- I’m looking forward to another bake along with everyone! πŸ˜ƒ
      Have a good night & sweet dreams 😘
      ~ Tina xoxo πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

