And So it Begins ~ ‘Bohemian Oasis’  – A Boho Crochet-Along ðŸ’œ

Hello my lovely friends  ðŸ’• Are you ready for a new Crochet-Along? 😊 I’m so excited, and hope that you’ll have fun! 😃

Since it’s not a ‘Mystery CAL’ I can tell you…we’re making a cozy blanket. An oasis for your living room – something to snuggle under in the colder months to come. It’s hard to imagine right now that I ever want to sit under a blanket, but it’s coming! 😉

I will give you a few tips on how to change it into a shawl, a larger blanket, or even a Wallhanging. 😁

But now…without further ado….here’s Part 1

(Please be patient with me 😊 this is my very first (own) crochet along…so if I stumble a bit, or am not clear on anything – give me a nudge 🤗 I think together we can make this a fabulous experience 💜)


It’s actually 32″ wide but in the full picture you couldn’t see the detail. 😁

There was a lot of trial and error…translation – frogging 😄 But I ironed out the problems, and so far I’m pretty happy with it. 

So today I’m going to show you how to crochet the ‘Flower Grannies’. They are your foundation. 

There are 5, for a total width of 32″ (including the connection crochet) We’ll work a 3″ border around everything at the end for a total of 38″. 

If you want to make a larger blanket just add more squares. I picked stitches that work with any number of foundation stitches. 🤓

But first…the ‘Flower Granny’ 

Abbreviations:

htc = half treble crochet 

tc = treble crochet 

dc2tog = yo, insert hook in designated stitch, pull yarn through, yo, through 2 loops. Yo, insert hook into same stitch, pull through. Yo, pull through 2loops, yo, pull through remaining 3 loops.

1. Start with a Magic Ring. Ch3, yo, dc in the base of the chain. *Yo, dc2tog, ch1, dc2tog . Repeat from *four times = 6 petals. Fasten off 

 

*Yo, dc2tog, ch1, dc2tog . Repeat from *four times = 6 petals. Close ring with a slipstitch. Fasten off

2. Connect your second color. Ch 3, dc in ch1 space at the base of the chain. Ch1, dc2tog in same space. Ch1. Work *dc2tog, ch1, dc2tog groups in each ch1 space. 

  I marked the placements with pins 

Connect with a slipstitch. 

3. Ch3, turn your work around, 2dc into space at the base of the chain. Ch 1. *Work 3dc into every ch1 space of the previous row 

= 12 groups of 3. Connect with a slipstitch. Fasten off. 



4. Connect your third color. Ch3, 2dc in space at the base of your chain. Ch 1, 3 dc into next ch1 space. Ch1 – now you’ll work the corner. 2 htr, 1tc, ch3, 1 tc, 2 hdc. *Ch1, 3dc in next ch1 space. Ch1, 3dc in next ch1 space. Ch1, crochet the corner. Repeat from *. End with a corner. Connect with a slipstitch, and fasten off. 

Done! 😍 Isn’t that a nice weekend project? 

Then you want to connect them 😀 I picked this join stitch because it goes perfect with anything Granny Square, plus it aids in keeping the project ‘flowy’ 😌 

I posted a tutorial for this join stitch a few weeks ago…you can find it here ðŸ™‚

I honestly hope you like the project I picked for us 🤗 Please holler if you have any questions or concerns! I’m always just a quick message away 😘

Let me know what you think about this project! Will you join in? 💜 That would be pretty awesome! 

I’ll be back tomorrow with a few ‘Weekend Chuckles’…I did find some good ones! 😂😂😂

Until then 💕

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tami
    Jul 31, 2017 @ 13:57:40

    Hooray for you Tina!! I’m so happy to see you creating your own CAL!! I like the idea of doing a wall hanging! I have a few more summer projects that I really must finish but I’m going to make a folder in my email to save this too – maybe I’ll jump in in a couple of weeks!! 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Crochet ~ Along Part III  | Kristabella's Hodgepodge

Leave a Reply

