New ~ Stitch ~ Sunday 🌺 Zig-Zag Puff Stitch 

Hello my lovely friends πŸ’• Welcome back! πŸ€—

Today I have a really cute stitch for you… 

Just the name alone 😁 ‘Zig Zag Puff Stitch’ makes me smile a little. 

And it’s actually pretty simple – once you get into a rhythm you’ll see your Blankie/Scarf/Shawl/Pillowcase grow quickly. πŸ™‚

Alrighty…let’s do this 

Start with a loose* foundation chain – a multiple of 3 (+4) 

*you want to crochet the chain loosely (you may even wanna try a larger hook for the foundation) that makes it easier to ‘find’ the desired chain for the stitches of the second row. Plus your piece is less likely to bunch up. πŸ€“

Okay …you have your chain, now…

Row 1 Dc into 4th chain from the hook. *Yo, place your next stitch one chain back (into the 3rd chain from the hook). Draw yarn through one loop, repeat twice. You now have seven loops on your hook. Yo, draw through all 7 loops. (Puff) Ch 1. Dc1.
Skip one chain, dc1, repeat from * until you get to the end of the row. Place a half-crochet stitch into the last chain. Ch2, turn. 

Row 2 Place 1 dc on top of the first Puff. Work one puff stitch into the space between the hdc and the puff in the previous row. 


1 dc on top of the next puff, one puff between the two puffs of the previous row. (gee, I wish there was another word for Puff , so I could change things up a little 😜) 

Repeat to the end of the row. End with a hdc into the turning chain. Ch 2, turn. 

Repeat Row 2 until your piece reaches the desired length. 

Isn’t it pretty? Do you love it? 😊

I hope this all made sense to you ☺️ If not…please let me know! I’m just a quick message away! 

By the way – here’s what happens if your foundation chain is crocheted too tight…you get a little croissant πŸ₯ 


You can reach different textures by pulling the loops higher or lower. I played with that a little here ⬇️ on the bottom rows I pulled the loop to about 3/4″. The top 4 rows are ‘regular’ height double crochet stitches. 


Play with it and have fun. I’m sure you’ll find out what suits your project the best. πŸ˜ƒ

Now I have a little failure to report πŸ˜•

Remember last week I tried the ‘slipstitch only’ piece? Probably not…because you are busy and have other things to remember 😁 

So I’ll recap. I read that projects crocheted in slipstitch only, are superwarm and look like knitted pieces. 


They were right! It’s very thick, and the stitches do look knitted. πŸ™‚

This piece ⬆️ was done by crocheting through the back loop only. Using the front loop only will give it a different look. Well, right again…but that looks just odd. 😬 Unless I made the same mistakes 4 times…it just won’t work for me. Take a look 


See how thick this is? Well, it would be warm! πŸ˜‚ But there’s another problem. Now I don’t know which row to work with. πŸ˜• Either one will leave the other one just hanging there. 

Tell you what….I’ll play with it – one of these days – and see if I can figure this out! πŸ˜‰ Or, even better, have you ever done a piece using slipstitch, front loop only? Maybe you could enlighten me! It would be very much appreciated! 😘

Oh my…look at the time! 😳 The afternoon sure went by fast! It’s already dinner time. 

I let you go now so you can feed yourself! πŸ˜ƒ

Thanks for visiting and reading! πŸ’œ I hope you’ll be back! 

Until then  πŸ’•

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. quietwatercraft
    Jul 19, 2017 @ 10:28:14

    That’s so cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Tami
    Jul 20, 2017 @ 14:14:05

    I love the ziggyzaggy puff!! For the slip stitching – I have had some success with slip stitch front only down the length of the row then go to slip stitch back only on the way back up the row. I continue alternating front down back up and it makes a lovely look and not quite so thick. I love using this for single stitches and am right in the middle of a little camisole top right now with this method. For slip stitching I’ve only used the front loop back loop for the headband of a hat. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Kristabella's Hodgepodge
      Jul 20, 2017 @ 14:42:52

      Great! πŸ˜€ Thank you, Tami 😍 I will have to try that! I can see it on a hat…it will definitely keep your ears toasty 😊
      Did you post pictures of the camisole? That sounds so cute πŸ˜€ Because I do like the stitch, just not the way I did it πŸ€“

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Tami
        Jul 20, 2017 @ 14:57:24

        The cami is still in process. I’m hoping to have it done early next week – when I do the post for it I will take some close up pictures of the pattern that the alternating front only/back only makes – I really like the way it looks. πŸ˜€

        Like

Leave a Reply

