A ~ Fiber ~ Art ~ Moment ๐ŸŒบ Granny Squares Rock ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Hello my lovely friends ๐Ÿ’• Great to see you again! ๐Ÿ˜€

As you probably know by now…I have a thing for Granny Squares. It was a slow growing love, but now I design everything around those beauties. ๐Ÿ˜€

And it turns out – there are a lot of us.

I researched them a bit, and found the first mention of (then called) Patchwork Squares in a publication from the late 1800s ๐Ÿค“ The book is called “Victorian crochet by weldon and company published in 1895”. It is wildly speculated that women used every and any scrap of yarn to make a warm blanket, and came up with this pretty pattern…probably long before 1895. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I could not find any info why they’re called ‘Granny Squares’ though. If you know, please tell us! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Now let’s take a look at what’s out there in the Patchwork department…

I do like this dress ๐Ÿ˜


These are cute…

         
       

Sir Paul rocks the ‘Granny Square’ ๐Ÿ˜œ

Now, dresses, skirts, tops I can see myself wearing, but the pants are not for me ๐Ÿ™ƒ

       
What about you? Would you rock the pants? If you just uttered a giddy ‘Yes’ … Alright! ๐Ÿ˜€ I do admire the wild and crazy you! ๐Ÿ˜

While those  โฌ†๏ธ  are a touch and go, for these here โฌ‡๏ธ I only have a firm ‘No’ ๐Ÿ˜ณ

๐Ÿคฃ

    The top maybe, but the shorts (panties?) are a ‘Nope’! 

But that’s just me…. ๐Ÿ˜Š Again, if you love it… Go and rock it! ๐Ÿค—
These are the most notable outfits I could fine. I’m sure there are a lot more out there. If you find/made a spectacular piece- I’d love to see it! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Thank you for visiting! ๐Ÿ’œ I hope you enjoyed your stay! 

Come back soon! 

Until then ๐Ÿ’•

~ Tina xoxo 

๐Ÿ’ฅ All images I found on Pinterest. Source (if available) are by the photos. 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nothingbutknit2
    Jun 27, 2017 @ 16:17:36

    I love a good granny square but the pants/shorts and full outfits are over the edge:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. kelleysdiy
    Jun 27, 2017 @ 21:57:49

    Congratulations Tina! You have been nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award! You can see here..https://kelleysdiy.com/2017/06/27/blogger-recognition-award/ once again CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Tracy @ It's a T-Sweets Day!
    Jun 28, 2017 @ 22:29:23

    I love a good granny square, but the holy granny pants are enough to make me laugh! Thx for sharing the pictures:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

