A Fiber ~ Art ~ Moment πŸ’œ

Hello my lovely friends πŸ’• I hope you’re having a great weekend! Thanks for taking a minute to visit. 

Today I want to introduce you to Althea Crome. She’s a knitter of miniatures – even though that term doesn’t really describe her talent…and patience! 😊

I found her  website – bugknits.com – by pure chance, and am absolutely awestruck. 

Let me show you why …..

   So darling! πŸ’•
  She made an iddy – biddy Christmas Cardigan 😍
 Mini gloves – One finger fits a grain of rice 😳
On her website she tells us how she came from knitting ‘wearables’ to miniature knitting: 

“In 2000, my fascination with this tiny scale merged with my love of knitting, and since then I have been pushing toward ever new technical and design challenges. Tough as it is to knit on such a small scale, the “bug-knit” scale has allowed me the freedom to create and experiment with designs which, on a larger scale, would be cumbersome and prohibitive. My success in developing commercial patterns and techniques for 1:12 scale gloves, socks and other garments has only inspired me to venture further into what I’ve come to think of as “extreme knitting.” Indeed, from the time I began my vocation as an extreme knitter, I have made very few full-scale garments.”
I hope you enjoyed this little peek into an amazing artist’s life 😊 

Until next time πŸ’•

~ Tina xoxo 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy @ It's a T-Sweets Day!
    Jun 11, 2017 @ 03:17:12

    Wow! What amazing skills! Thank you for sharing these pictures:). I can see why you love her work!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

