Work ~in~Progress Wedne……eh, Thursday πŸ€“

Hello and ‘Happy June’ my lovely friends πŸ’• Thank you for peeking in on WiP Wednesday…one day late. πŸ˜‹

First…can I please get a ‘WootWoot’ and a ‘Hooray’?  πŸŽ‰ The sleeve is done! I actually figured it out. Took me long enough. 😝 

I lost count, but there must have been 6, 7, 8 tries! πŸ™„ Meaning, 6, 7, 8completely finished sleeves…only to be frogged! 😫 

But, that’s all behind us,  and now we can admire 

The Sleeve 


I tried double crochet, granny pattern…it just wouldn’t fit right. It was way to big and bulky. 

So after 2 tries I decided to undo the mock lacing, and then came – you guessed it – more frogging. 😏 Now they’re about half the size …much better. πŸ˜€

Next try was a failure…of course πŸ˜‹ While the triangle was ok by itself, adding the length of a sleeve made it too, yep, bulky. More frogging. 

The next idea was a ‘inserted’ sleeve. I picked up 16″ in stitches about 1″ up the inside of the triangle, and started with a double crochet stitch. So far, so good. 

The ‘fitting’ showed that I had been too generous with the decreases. Rrrrip the stitches went. But at least I knew now that I was on the right track, because I really liked the way it looked. 

Next try I got it right. It ended just where I wanted it to, 5″ above the wrist. I wanted a longer cuff to show of the beautiful Tunesian Stitch πŸ’œ 

What happened next is hard to believe. Cuff done, I draped everything over my arm and shoulder….the cuff was wrong side out. 😫 And it can’t be worn another way because of the triangle/sleeve overlap. Rrrrrip, extra attention to the way everything lays….and….ta-da….DONE! Happy dance and 🍾πŸ₯‚

 Because I wrote down what I was doing every step of the long way, I now have to identify and decipher the correct notes for the final, successful, version for the second sleeve… and maybe a crochet along for everybody. What do you think? Would you be interested in something like that? 😊

Now I have to admit… I was pretty close to unraveling myself a few times…pun intended 🀣

To keep from going bonkers – and maybe set the whole thing on fire – I worked on two other, simpler pieces. 

First….a super soft Camo scarf in – my current favorite – Tunesian Stitch 

Second…a triangle scarf in the Granny Square pattern. I love this yarn, and hope that it’ll be around for a long time 😍

Somehow I really want some blackberry ice cream now! 😎

Now I’ll go and tackle my notes, and then the second sleeve. πŸ™ƒ

What are you working on right now? Did you ever have that many problems with a piece? I really am looking forward to hearing from you! πŸ€—

Until then πŸ’•

~ Tina xoxo 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MrsCraft
    Jun 01, 2017 @ 21:45:53

    Glad you got it figured out. I’m making baby crocodile stitch boots and they are surprisingly fiddly!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. quietwatercraft
    Jun 02, 2017 @ 08:35:10

    Oh I just realised I never replied to your comment on the last post. Sorry!
    It’s looking lovely now πŸ™‚ and I’m almost drooling over that triangle scarf – such gorgeous yarn!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

