Fighting Mosquitoes One Plant At A Time

Hello my lovely friends πŸ’• How sweet of you to peek in!

If you were with me last year you might remember this one. For all my new friends, here’s a ‘rerun’ πŸ™‚

Can you believe it’s almost May? That means it’s finally time to tend to the flowerbeds.
Right now I’m taking a break from weed-pulling Β ….ugh….all that rain and the humidity really made them flourish. πŸ˜– I do leave the pretty ones with the flowers, Β but sorry ‘Creeping Charlie’ you gotta go.

Then it’s off to buy the flowers! Yay! Do you get overwhelmed at the nursery/garden center? I sure do – my flowerbed is not all that big, so I can’t get that many, and I can never decide which ones of the pretties to take home.

But ~ this year it’s going to be easy! See, I’m very allergic to mosquito bites. Those little suckers leave me severely swollen and itchy. So I was very glad when I came across this nifty chart that lists all the plants mosquitoes hate! Ha! Got them now! 😜

I will plant them all around the patio, and in pots around and on the table. I do wish I could cover myself in all these plants…just to be on the safe side. That is of course not possible, but it gave me an idea for a fun sketch πŸ˜‹
img_0400

Don’t you wish? Then all you need is have someone throw a net Β over you to keep the bees away! 🐝

I will plant everything this week…hopefully it’s successful.

(Update- last year we had a lot less mosquitoes, I’m hoping it was due to the plants , and we’ll be bite-free again this year! 😊

Going now to pull some more weeds! 😝

Oh, wait…..I just found this helpful hint

IMG_1665

Do you have any experience with this? If so, please let us know!

I hope you found these tips and tricks helpful πŸ€—

Until next time πŸ’•

~ Tina xoxo

*I’m in no way affiliated with the product mentioned in this post πŸ™‚

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bluebird4UDaily
    May 07, 2017 @ 16:28:20

    Oh my heavens, I’m going to give this a try.. I hate bug sprays on my skin.. Thank you so much for the heads up on this trick for surviving outside with the biting bugs.. hugs from Laura

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

