Books ~ My Year in ‘Review’

I love books! They’ve been a part of my life ever since I can remember. Even though I’ve been warned …. πŸ˜‚


πŸ’₯~from a newspaper article, 1914 

Over the years I enjoyed numerous genres – the common denominator being …crime. It was always some kind of murder mystery ~ Agatha’s Miss Marple (of course!), Sue Grafton, David Rosenfelt, Susan Wittig Albert to name just a few I can remember. Then came Nora Roberts! Everything Nora Roberts…not always a murder mystery, but mysterious nonetheless.
If I had to pick a favorite, I would say Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum! Right?!  πŸ€“    I have to ask…Ranger or Morelli? 😍

For quite some time now I’m reading (and enjoying immensely) ‘Cozy Mysteries’.
I think my love for those began with Jessica Fletcher. Yep, ‘Murder, she wrote’ is an all-time favorite of mine.  πŸ€“   I love the small-town setting, the everyday life of ordinary people, the clever way she solved every murder in her vicinity. The way her life was going, I would have been afraid to be close to her – I just know that I’d either be the victim, or the suspect    πŸ˜ But it’s fun being on the outside looking in.

Back to 2016 and my ‘cozies’.
~1. I started the year finishing the (seemingly) last installment of Madelyn Alt’s ‘Bewitching Mystery’ series – ‘Home for a Spell’. I really enjoyed this series, and I’m quite sad that it looks like there won’t be another book. Nobody seems to know what happened to Ms. Alt. There are rumors that a new book will be released soon…We’ll see, I keep an eye on it.

~2. Once I finished this one, I browsed through the ‘customers also bought’ section, and discovered Bailey Cates’ “A Magical Bakery Mystery” series. Oh, fun!
Cookies, Scones, Witches, Spells, and Recipes (for the cookies, not the spells!     )
Having a small business myself I love the ‘small bakery’ setting! The good news is that there are seemingly endless suggestions for me! If you like to take a closer look, check it out here πŸ“š

Don’t you love it when you discover a book, and then find out that it is a part of a series and you get to read them all right away?! When you don’t have to wait a year for the next one?
Well, that happened with the ‘Magical Bakery’ series, and also with…

~3. ‘A Witchcraft Mystery’ by Juliet Blackwell

image

By now I’m not just looking for the small business setting, but also for the ‘witchy’ part.
I find the magical, paranormal, mysterious very fascinating, and Juliet Blackwell really hit a home-run with this series!
The series starts with ‘Secondhand Spirits’. Here we meet Lily Ivory, vintage clothing shop owner, and witch. After years of traveling, trying to ‘fit in’ somewhere, she finally feels at home in San Francisco. Then murder and mayhem start happening – and she has to team up with other ‘undercover’ witches to solve murders and some very ‘unusual’ occurrences. If you wanna dive right in, or read a sample here you go

~4. About half-way through the year I stumbled upon ‘It Takes a Witch’ – you can see why that caught my eye   😊  It’s the first one in the ‘Wishcraft’ series. The first one!!! Eureka!
Some more witches – this time with a little twist! Darcy lives in a town called ‘Enchanted Village’ surrounded by other ‘Wishcrafters’ – meaning they get to grant wishes- and other magical humans. Together they follow their magical paths, and solve a few crimes on the side.

image

~5. This series is a regular one – no witches, demons, or other otherwordly spirits.
The authour is Diane Vallere, and these two are from her ‘Material Witness Mystery Series’.
It was a fun read. Small town (and small business  πŸ€—  ) with likeable characters, the mystery is not too obvious, and it’s beautifully written. Overall a great new series, and I’ll be definitely looking for the next (third) book.
image

~6. I ended the year with a brandnew favorite – the ‘Pyper Rayne’ series. The first book is called “Spirits, Stilettos, and a Silver Bustier” by Deanna Chase.
This series is a spin-off of the ‘Jade Calhoun’ series, and is an amazing ride.
Pyper is a coffee-shop-owner and a medium. Murder, Mystery, Ghosts, a Witch, and a little bit of love  – doesn’t get better than this, right?!  If you wanna meet Pyper and her friends or just read a sample…here it is

Most of these books I found on Amazon* – and I must say, I love the ‘download a sample’ feature. They give you enough pages (for free!) to let you judge the book (so you don’t have to do it by the cover  πŸ˜‰ )

I just started a new (to me) series….also by Diane Vallere- I’ll tell you about that next time! πŸ€—

Until then

~Tina xoxo
*I am not affiliated with Amazon or the authors. I just love books, want to share the joy I found in these stories. πŸ’•

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michele Low
    Jan 12, 2017 @ 20:13:02

    Thank you for the good read tips!! I will have to check some of these out! Great job!

    >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

