Take a rose and a potato…

Hello ~ today I’m sharing my latest gardening project with you. Well, the first step, the beginning.
You might have seen the videos on Facebook, where a very clever soul is growing a rose with the help of a potato. I’ve always wanted to try that, saved the post…only to forget about it.
Then,  yesterday the universe put everything together for me, and I started the “Potato Rose”.
First of all, my rosebush had finally recovered from this year’s invasion of the ‘Japanese Beetle’. Boy, those little suckers really did a job on my poor flowers. I tried all the natural ‘get rid of bugs’ remedies I know…nothing worked. So, in the end, I had to – much to my chagrin – use a chemical.  😕     That worked though, and now the little pretty is blooming again.

20160808_163118.jpg

Second, the video popped up in my newsfeed again, and I had just bought potatoes.
So, what am I waiting for?
I clipped a rosebud with stem (about 10″)
20160808_163118-1.jpg

removed the flower and the leaves

20160808_164533-1.jpg

drilled a hole into the potato with a long, pointy screw

20160808_164440.jpg

pushed the stem in – that was easier than I thought. Potatoes are quite ‘flexible’

20160808_164619.jpg

planted everything in a medium size pot

20160808_165019.jpg

Then I cut the bottom of a plastic bottle, and fitted it over the stem.
If you’re trying this at home, push the bottle into the dirt about 1/2″ so the first breeze doesn’t make off with your greenhouse!
A little water all around the bottle – done!

20160809_092419-1.jpg

….and now we wait! 😊

I hope I’ll be able to show you results soon🌹If you don’t hear about this again, I’ve failed miserably😋 That shouldn’t stop you from showing me your success though!!!
Good luck to you! 🍀

~Tina xoxo

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thunder Rose
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 22:41:00

    This is so interesting! So glad we found your blog. You have a new follower. I am gonna give this a try. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Kristabella's Hodgepodge
      Aug 09, 2016 @ 23:34:03

      Thank you so much, Debbie! I’m glad you’re here 😊 Please let me know how your rose flourishes. I just looked at mine…the remnant leaf stems are still green! I take that as a good sign, since it’s been 24 hours 😄

      Like

      Reply

  2. Bluebird4UDaily
    Sep 05, 2016 @ 14:56:17

    I think if you left at least three leaves on the rose stem it might have worked better for you.. have you ever planted beans, and something comes in and eats all the leaves off the stem, usually the plant will die because it needs the leaves to gather from the sunlight to grow.. I’d try this again with 3 leaves on the stem… good luck and looking forward to your results…

    Laura

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

