Spinach/Beef Soup (& Leftover change-up)

 You might look at the title and wonder what’s a ‘Leftover change-up’? Well, it’s a phrase I just made up (I think ๐Ÿค”) -it’s when you take your leftovers and ‘change them up’ so you have a completely different meal. But more about that later.
First- let me give you the recipe for the soup….it’s enough for 3 people (+ 2nd day meal).     You’ll need the following ingredients

1 pound ground beef (vegetarian sausage works really well too)
1 package frozen Spinach
1 onion, diced (I use half a bag frozen diced onion)
3 cups broth
12 oz. broad egg noodles (half for today, half for tomorrow)
Spices (Rosemary/Garlic mix, Greek seasoning)
Coconut oil

(Note: I am not endorsing any products, I’ll just show you what I used)

1. First sautรฉ the onions in the oil until they’re slightly browned


2. Add the ground beef ….while that browns (stir it occasionally) cook the spinach and noodles according to package directions.  Helpful hint- if you place a wooden spoon across the pot your noodles won’t boil over! ๐Ÿ˜€ (unless you proudly wanna demonstrate this amazing thing to hubby…then it doesn’t work- true story! ๐Ÿ˜‹ So don’t do that!)

See – and I didn’t do anything between the 1st and 2nd picture. No stirring, no turning down the heat!

3. When the meat is cooked thoroughly, add the broth, spinach and the spices ( 1 1/2 Tbsp. Rosemary/Garlic mix, 1 tsp. Greek seasoning). Simmer on low for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

4. Add half of the noodles, stir well, and season according to taste. Ladle into 3 bowls and garnish with shredded cheese.
20160410_190848-1.jpg

Enjoy! ๐Ÿค—

Now, when you’re done eating (I hope it was to your liking!) add the other half of the noodles to the leftover soup and store it in the fridge.     I came up with the leftover recipe because I was always told not to reheat spinach. Not one to throw away food, I had to think of something!

So, the  next day pull out your soup (well, stew by now, because the noodles will have absorbed  add a jar of salsa, and garnish with avocado slices, and halved cherry tomatoes.
img_0333

Et voilร  – a beautiful, fast and easy meal – and no bored family members or taste buds!

I hope you enjoyed these dishes! Let me know – I’m looking forward to hearing from you!

Ta-Ta for now
~Tina xoxo

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eydie
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 19:59:13

    Thank you Tina!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

