Dreamcatchers ~ The Story

Dreamcatchers ~ I love them…and I’m thinking it’s safe to assume that you do too, or youΒ  wouldn’t be here, right?! 😍
There is something about these dainty creations that fascinates me. When I look at one, I can see the black shadows of nightmares getting tangled in the net, while the airy and happy dreams slip through the hole and slide down the feathers to the sleeper.
As I was sitting in my studio, tying and knotting the delicate web inside a hoop, I started to wonder about the inspiration, the reason. Well, I know they originate with the Native-Americans, I know about the nightmares being captured, and disappearing with the light of day. But what’s the story, the legend? So I did some research. After a little digging – visiting various websites, clicking on numerous links, I got lucky! I found the beautiful tale about the origin of the dreamcatcher…

Dreamcatchers originate with the people of the Ojibwe Tribe. Through intermarriage and trade they were later embraced by neighboring nations. Ancient tales of theΒ Ojibwe people speak of the children’s caretaker, Spider Woman, known as Asibikaashi (the inanimate form of the word for spider of the Ojibwe people is ‘asabikeshiinh’) She is said to have taken care of all the children and people on the land.
As the Ojibwe nation began to fan out and settled all over North America, it was difficult for Asibikaashi to protect all the children. The mothers and grandmothers started weaving magical webs, using willow hoops and sinew, and would hang the charm above the cribs and beds to protect the wee ones from nightmares.

And so, thanks to Asibikaashi, and the mothers and grandmothers of the Ojibwe people, we get to enjoy these beautiful charms and are blessed with their protective powers.

Here are some Dreamcatchers I made over the past few weeks…

 

img_0232
They even found their way into my jewelry…

As always ~ Thank you so very much for visiting! πŸ’–
’til next time
~Tina xoxo

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. uhbeautifuldisaster
    Mar 11, 2016 @ 11:23:40

    oh wow your jewelry is beautiful! Would you ever consider a trade for something crochet? the wall hangings are so pretty too. and thanks for sharing that, over a month ago I checked out a book called “Native American Myths and Legends” and I think there was a few stories from this tribe in there. Im gonna have to go take a look!
    Check out the crochet dreamcatchers on my blog :3

    Like

    Reply

    • kristabellaweston
      Mar 11, 2016 @ 17:24:49

      Thank you so much for your kind words 😊 They ~and you ~ are very much appreciated!
      The Native-American culture is a fascinating one, isn’t it?
      Thank you for your offer to trade creations. It’s a great idea, but my daughter is an avid crocheter- she provides me everything my little heart desires. I’ll keep your offer in mind though, and will keep an eye on your beautiful creations!
      ~Tina xoxo

      Like

      Reply

  2. Throughmylens
    Mar 11, 2016 @ 18:42:46

    Dream catchers have always been so fascinating for me.. So magical like ✨

    Like

    Reply

  3. Dee Harvey
    Mar 12, 2016 @ 22:20:47

    Tina so happy to know the story about the dreamcatcher! What a nice way to bring comfort to a child.I hope your new dreamcatcher works for a Garth Brook’s concert ticket! Dream big-it will happen!

    Like

    Reply

    • kristabellaweston
      Mar 13, 2016 @ 01:18:12

      I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the story! 😍 The native American culture is so fascinating!
      It’s such a nice thought that a dreamcatcher will help me in my hunt for the tickets! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for reading! 😘

      Like

      Reply

  4. kelleysdiy
    Jun 25, 2017 @ 22:00:05

    Ohh, these are so beautiful!! You have some awesome skills.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

