~Hodgepodge~

Hello, Hello, Hello – it’s been a while, hasn’t it? 23 days to be exact (as the friendly WordPress stats page just reminded me ๐Ÿ˜‰) You’re probably thinking ‘Well, so much for that ‘New Year’s resolution’, right?! Well, it was a case of great intentions, but then life, the universe throwing me a curveball…or, in my case a (very fast) outward swinging door,  abruptly stopped by my face which resulted in the first black eye of my life!  Thankfully, no concussion, no pain, just a lot of swelling (my left eyebrow is still in a constant state of surprise…hehehe), purple and black coloring – didn’t need eye make-up for the last 10 days! Long story short – the swelling pretty much shut my eye, so computer gazing was not in the cards…hence, no blog writing. But, I thought a lot about it, so now I have a nice list of things to tell/show you! Ready? Here it goes….

1. Cups – I love cups in all shapes and sizes. I do have a matching set somewhere, but mismatched…eh, eclectic….is more my style. I look for (and buy) them everywhere. It’s especially satisfying when I find pretty ones, only to discover later, that they come from far away, and have an interesting background. Like the ones I found in a Thrift Store in Kansas City a few weeks ago.
Here’s one of them, in a deserving setting….
img_0096

Lavender Tea, Chocolates, a good book, and a pretty cup ~ what more does a girl need! ๐Ÿ˜

But, not only are they gorgous, they do have an interesting background, a story…
The marking reads ‘Crown Lynn Earthstone New Zealand’ (!) – pretty nifty, huh?!
I had to investigate – it turns out that these beauties really made the  long journey from New Zealand to Kansas City! Crown Lynn pottery was a very popular household item in the 1960s in New Zealand. The company started in the 1920s as a brick and pipe manufacturer, before it expanded into the domestic market. It quickly grew into the largest pottery company in the Southern Hemisphere. Sadly the success didn’t last – the pottery closed it’s doors in 1989.
So – that makes these cups and saucers (and 3 dessert plates) extra special. I will keep one here to add to my collection, the other ones I will share with you in the store.
It looks pretty good among the others, don’t you think…
img_0098
One more (quick) cup story….see the little grey one with the tree? Third from the left?
Yep – you got it! That one has an extra special meaning to me. Let me tell you why…
Many moons ago, when I was a little girl (in Germany) my Mom brought home a little gift for me – a cup. It must have been around Easter or Christmas, because I remember that it contained a little cellophane bag with candy. From then one that cup held my daily hot chocolate, sometimes tea, later on coffee.
Well – you know how it goes! I moved, Mom moved – the cup got lost somewhere along the way. But – what do you know – last year I found this one here in a small Thrift-Store in Leavenworth, Kansas! Ha – what are the odds!

2. Now off to a completely different subject
Before my little accident I designed and made some extra-warm scarves, ’cause… you know …Winter in Kansas! ๐Ÿ˜จ They’re made of a double layer of felted wool. One layer is made of (washing) machine felted knits, the top layer is needle-felted wool ‘fluff’. I named them ‘Paradise~Scarves’, because they are so colorful, and do look like you’re wearing an abundance of flowers. Here are some pictures…

-I have no idea why the one is sideways…but by now you’re probably ready to stretch your neck anyway, right?
As you can see, I knitted a border out of fur-like yarn and added some (looooong) fringe, to give it extra width and length (and provide a little calm among the craziness)

3. Before I made jewelry, I was constantly knitting, crocheting, quilting something. You might remember from my first post this year, that I want to expand my horizon, learn new things. Keeping at least that resolution, I bought a spinning (spindle) wheel. It arrived last week …
img_0052
Good thing I’m very acquainted with Ikea furniture ๐Ÿ˜œ
But it wasn’t difficult – even with one eye (well, one-and-a-half by then)
Here it its…
img_0053
Here you actually get 2-in-1 – in the background you can see the weaving I’m working on. Eventually it will be a partition I need in the store.

4. Speaking of the store – the new year brought with it a new feature – a ‘Little Free Library’
You heard of those, I’m sure. They are popping up all over the place – most of the time they look like oversize bird-feeders, and are in people’s front yards, in parks, shopping areas.
Well, mine is just a bookshelf in a store – but the idea is the same. Take a book, enjoy, bring it back (or pass it on), and if you have extra ones laying around, bring ’em by!
20160109_154544.jpg

5. …now last, but not least – a few jewelry creations – Enjoy!

 


  
Alrighty….that’s it for now – rest your eyes (I know I will!)
I hope you enjoyed the ‘Hodgepodge’ of little stories and pictures.
Until next time
~Tina xoxo


Leave a Reply

