Books, bookmarks, and a little bit of history

October is ‘National Book Month’….how did I miss that…until now?!
It reminded me that I wanted to share the pictures of my recent trip to the bookstore with you.
Now you’re sitting there with raised eyebrows, thinking…”Yes, and? She’s off her rocker, writing about visiting a store!” Right? ๐Ÿ˜‰
But wait ’til you see the pictures! This is not an ordinary bookstore… it is a four (4!!!) story paradise… well, if you love books, that is!

When you walk in you see this…wpid-20150316_122108.jpg

Oooohh… I heard the angels sing! ๐Ÿ˜‡
Pretty much everything is displayed cover up, front and center! So you find gems you would normally never know about. Since I am, I admit it, a ‘judge a book by its cover person’, (well, most of the time) it’s a perfect layout. Pretty clever marketing! ๐Ÿ˜œ

3rd floor…

wpid-20150316_122217.jpg

View from the 4th floor

wpid-20150316_124618.jpg

For this pic I had my eyes closed when I stepped to the banister, held out the camera, and snapped the photo! Even looking at it now makes me slightly dizzy.

Now, I wanna add that I always have and always will shop and support small businesses. Nothing beats the personal attention, the charm, and the beautiful displays, so different from store to store! ๐Ÿ˜

But this visit to this enormous bookstore was almost like sightseeing. I truly enjoyed it, but I won’t have to go every week!

Speaking of sightseeing…now I should probably mention that this bookstore is at the ‘Country Club Plaza’ in Kansas City. The Plaza is a unique shopping district, built in the 1920s by the J.C.Nicholas Co. It was the first shopping district in the world structured to cater to the automobile. Pretty cool, huh?! This entire shopping area is of Spanish architecture, influenced by the buildings in Seville, Spain, and all of the structures are decorated with imported Mexican tile or lace-like terracotta. The Plaza was completed in 1922, but there have been renovations since then. For instance, in 1977 a major flood caused severe damage to many buildings, and prompted a vast renovation.
Here are some pictures of the beautiful tile decor…

wpid-20150316_131831.jpg

wpid-20150316_120937.jpg

wpid-20150316_120948.jpg

Delightful, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ˜„

Alrighty…that’s it for today!

Oh, no… wait! One more thing, somewhat related. After that trip, I felt inspired to replenish my bookmark display at the shop. I’ve been making beaded markers, but this time I designed/created a new style. These are made of leather bands with pretty glass charms and beads at either end. Take a look…

wpid-img_20151020_101242.jpg

Okay…this is really the end (for now) ๐Ÿ™‚
Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed this little trip ~ let me know your thoughts, or share your memorable doings/observation.

Love
Tina xoxo

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Chrystal Burtrum
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 01:04:23

    Looks like fun! Love the new book marks!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

