Looking back on my summer

Hello and ‘Good morning’ ~ and a good morning it is!

We woke up to a cool (AND non-humid!!!) day. 56 degrees and a little cloudy…feels like heaven!                          Fall is near, and with it comes a new planning stage for my business. See, Fall and early Winter is the busiest season in Weston, the small historic town where I have my store. But first let me tell you what I’ve been doing the last few weeks – the jewelry creations in my  new lines ‘Bohemian Dreams’ and ‘Simply delightful’ found new homes – which is always a little bittersweet (’cause I do form a bond with every piece on my worktable), but exciting nonetheless. Here are a few pictures…

June2015 012WIN_20150611_191905 (2)WIN_20150716_123039 (2)IMG_20150807_094028IMG_20150804_12314720150808_135216-1

Then, a few weeks ago, after a particularly heavy thunder+ rainstorm, my store flooded. A foot of water            (yes, 12″!!!!) found it’s way in, bringing a lot of mud with it. Ugh! After the water receded, there was about 1/2″ of mud left behind. I spare you the sight, it wasn’t pretty! Clean-up took a few days…but I was very lucky to have customers and friends stop by to lend a helping hand, and moral support!

In between all that I found some time to weave – my latest passion. I made a few small wall-hangings, and I’m just finishing up a piece that’s about 2′ x 5’….yes, you did read that right – 2 feet x 5 feet! Pretty ambitious, huh?You’re probably wondering -How? Why? Well, for that I have to go back a little.                                                   When we bought our house a few years back, I found myself facing a lot of empty walls. Some of them pretty big. One day, while grocery shopping I saw these pictures, print on canvas over a frame – you guessed it, 2′ x 5′. The motif was kinda nice – a landscape with lavender fields, and a little farmhouse in the background. So, I bought it, and up it went. It just wasn’t very artistic, ….well, it’s a print. Painting over it was not an option – I’m very inept with pencils/pens/paintbrushes. So, I took the canvas off the frame, made the warp, and started weaving. Let me show you….

20150806_114743

IMG_20150806_172307 This was last week!

Now the weaving is done! Yay! Time to add the fringe…I love fringe, need fringe! 😀

I guess that’s it for now – I hope you’ll be back for more! Lots of new and exciting ideas rushing around in my head.

Until next time – I’m always looking forward to (and enjoy) hearing from you!

Take care

~Tina  xoxo

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michele Low
    Aug 19, 2015 @ 20:24:46

    Anxious to see the
    finished product! Very nice 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

