Everyday things that make me smile

As you read my blog – THANKS for that, by the way 🙂 – you’re probably wondering

‘What is she like?’ ‘Who is she?’

Let me try to answer those questions. I think the best way to do this is in pictures!

So, when the idea for this blog came to me, I grabbed my camera, walked around my house and my yard, and snapped a few photos of things that make me happy, that make me smile every day!

1. Of course, my beads! I can never have enough beads. When you walk into my studio, they are everywhere. Either still in their little package, in containers, in drawers – I’m using ‘nuts ‘n bolts’ storage receptacles- and in half-finished creations.

Blog 005

Just last week I received a bead order, and the beads that looked real pretty in the pictures, were amazingly beautiful in person. That made me smile!                              Here they are….

Blog 004

These are Glass-beads – almost 2″ long – and handpainted in India. They are gorgeous, don’t you agree?

I just started using them in my creations…here are the first two pieces. A long necklace, and a hair barrette

Blog 006

2. My fabric stash                                                                                                                          I always had my sewing machine within reach – but never used it much. Until recently when the ‘Fabric Bug’ bit me, and I saw beautiful textures and patterns everywhere.  My favorite right now is the blush pink/black cotton print on the right.

Blog 007

Together with the black and white on the left, and a complimentary color (yet to be found!), it will be a Springtime Infinity-Scarf – kinda like the ones I have in my store.

February2015 020 February2015 018

3. My favorite coffee cup… a gift from my lovely daughter 🙂

Blog 008

4. Books – I read mostly fiction ~ ‘who-dune-it’s’ with an amateur sleuth, à la ‘Jessica Fletcher’ 🙂  But these here are two of my all-time-favorites non-fiction books…

Blog 009

5. My loom – recently acquired. I had mentioned it in an earlier blog – a children’s loom, quite small, made of wood. Perfect for me – since I like to weave ‘motif-wall-hangings’. Right now there’s a new project in the making – a ‘brick wall’ (marble beads) which will be topped by green ‘ivy’ and flowers.

Blog 010

6. My favorite sweatshirt – I love the colors, the design, and the hood!

Blog 011

7. My Angel collection (pictured here are just a few of my favorite ones)

Blog 012

8. My dogs – Lorelai ( the Westie) and Eddie (the ‘we don’t really know’) in the background, racing to get into the picture. I would have waited for him, but Lorelai is a little camera shy – usually, as soon as she see’s the camera she averts her eyes. Might be a bit attitude-y!

Blog

9. My yard – all things Nature, really – but in my yard I get to enjoy it all day, every day.

Our Birch-Tree                             Maple

Blog 014 Blog 015 Blog 016 Blog 018 Blog 019

This ^ beautiful russian Olive tree is in the neighbors yard                                                    Here’s a picture from last fall – when a mushroom grew in the hollow

Blog 001

The first Rosebud 🙂

The Rhododendron – which according to our ‘Yard Pro’ does not grow in our climate.   Ha – showed him!

10. …and last but not least…. Marble Cake (no further explanation necessary, right?!)

Blog 013

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dee Harvey
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 02:38:18

    Enjoyed your blog about the things that make you happy+smile Tina! It all worked on me! That’s why you’re my special friend!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

