My first weaving project ~ Part II ~ The finishing touches

So, here I was. With a semi-finished piece of a woven textile, planning the finishing touches.      I picked out some beads (of course!), buttons, yarn. I walked through the yard, eying every little twig, judging it for it’s potential to become part of my creation. I decided to use a twig to complement the natural fiber I used.

After I laid everything out, I unhooked the top portion from the loom – that was a little scary! Somehow I imagined everything to fall apart. But, good news, it didn’t! 🙂

I wanted to knot the loops to make sure nothing would unravel in the years to come. The little loops were just that, little – as in, too short. So I took my wide-tooth comb, and row by row compressed the weaving.

weaving 010

You might notice that the piece is shorter now, than it was in the previous picture.

weaving 008

Now I had enough length to work with. I knotted the loops, and threaded a wide-hole bead on each one. Time for my little twig. Loop by loop the piece of weaving became a wall-hanging.

weaving 009

My plan was to unhook the bottom portion, cut the loops ~ aargh, scissors! But, as you can see, it ended well 😉  ~ and knot the warp to create a fringe.

weaving 011

As you can clearly see, ‘Fringe’ is not the right word for the wimpy strands, sticking up ever which way. But – fret not – I still had some beautiful yarn left. So – now the ‘Fringe’ deserves it’s name!

weaving 018

I played with the buttons, until I was happy with the look. A few stitches and they were securely in place!

Now – how to hang it up? I don’t just want to hook the twig on a nail. Out came the ‘Kumihimo’ Disk. Believe it or not, I still had some silk-yarn and -ribbon left. I picked some additional yarn from my stash, and made this pretty cord.

weaving 012

And it’s done! I will proudly display it in the shop, where it will soon be joined by many more woven, bohemian-style wall-hangings! 😀

Thanks for sticking with me ’til the end. I hope you enjoyed the ride!

Now – the ‘Grand Finale’ ~ TaDA

weaving 019

Leave a Reply

